Endorsements V-picks Souldier Celestion D'Addario Lessons

The Campy Forum

Be polite and respectful. Don't sell stuff. No envy, no fear, no meanness.
Playing the Blues (& Nailing the Changes) lesson question
  • Curious about these two lessons. I don't play blues, and don't foresee myself anytime soon, however, I'm aware that much of the music I listen to has its roots in the blues. I'm sure there would be benefit from taking these lessons, but would my time be better spent on other lessons?

I'm more of an indie rock, singer songwriter, and beginning country & jazz player. I've been playing for about 25 years, but never was very studious about it until recently. So far I've either taken or am currently working my way through Freddie Green Rhythm Style, Country Soul, Arpeggios as Exercises, Table For One, Voice Leading and Progressions, and Panhandle Rag. I'm already planing on getting the Travis lesson and a chord melody (probably Amazing Grace).

I'm really just trying to get some idea of how much I would get out of the Playing the Blues lesson, and what about the Nailing the Changes lesson, can one take the Nailing the Changes lesson without first taking Playing the Blues? Others I'm considering at this point are B flat Blues Concepts, F Jazz Blues Concepts, both Steel Guitar lessons, and Country Lead in G. Basically, I feel like those lessons will be more towards the style I like to play, but I'm wondering if I'll be missing out on some foundational things without Playing the Blues and Nailing the Changes.

Sorry for the somewhat rambling post, but any input from folks that have been down the path would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tony